perfect day

perfect day

I walk into the tattoo shop with no appointment. My artist drops what he’s doing and is glad to see me. I tell him about this idea I’ve been formulating in my mind. He’s interested/excited. I show him the artwork that I brought in after I unlock the security code, and wait for my app to come up, and type the correct search terms in, and wait for my search to come up, and scroll through the images until I find the ones I found before. My artist gets a brief glimpse of these as I’m finding them and is now even more excited about my project. We go to lunch, he buys, and we discuss the relevance and implications of my reasons for having him bring my ideas to life in a tattoo. After lunch, we go to his house and he hashes out three versions of the design with my helpful and adept input. I choose the one that’s just right and then have him do a few last minute changes. On returning to the shop, he puts on my choice of music and we begin. We’ll have to work late, but he’s happy to reschedule his anniversary dinner with his wife, because he’s so stoked on my design and that he, of all the tattoo artists in the world, gets to do it. We work for hours, taking several breaks so I can get a better look and make helpful suggestions on how he should proceed. After several hours, my work is done. The tattoo is awesome, if I may say so myself, and I’m glad my artist could pull it off. Because of it’s awesomeness, he charges me half rate, he’s just stoked to have me out there wearing it. We then go out for some drinks, he buys, and after partying like rock stars for a couple hours, he drives me home and tucks me in. Next day my tattoo shows up on his website, listed under “coolest tattoo I’ve ever done”, it goes viral, and I’m popping up all over the web. I get my own reality show in which I interview and hire the “Top Tattoo Team” to finish the rest of my work. I guess that’s more than one perfect day, but all that awesomeness just wouldn’t fit.

Dream on.

2 Comments on “perfect day”

  1. nova says:

    lol Also you were allowed to bring your three year old in to watch and he actually got to tattoo a bit of it because the artist wanted to give him an experience that would have so much meaning for your whole family. Three years later you came back to just add a bit more to the tattoo but your artist just called it a touch up and didn’t charge you because it was such an awesome design he couldn’t wait to see it again.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.